Awards Announcement

SCB wins TWO American Architecture Awards

Date Published

SCB is the proud recipient of TWO prestigious American Architecture Awards for Anaha and Tooker House at Arizona State University. We share these awards with our visionary clients – Howard Hughes Corporation, American Campus Communities and Arizona State University.

FROM THE CHICAGO ANTHENAEUM MUSEUM OF ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN – Over 100 buildings from a shortlist of 400 have won the prestigious 2019 American Architecture Awards® for the best new architecture designed and constructed by American architects and by international architects with offices in the United States.

Now in its 25th year, The American Architecture Awards are organized by The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies—jointly presenting this annual, prestigious program for Design Excellence and for the best and next contributions to innovative contemporary American architecture.

The American Architecture Awards are the nation’s highest public awards given by a non-commercial, non-trade affiliated, public arts, culture, and educational institution.

This year’s American Architecture Awards went to exceptional buildings designed for every stage of our lives: skyscrapers, corporate headquarters, governmental buildings, science and technology centers, transportation centers, airports, hotels, parks, pavilions, restorations and renovations, retail facilities, housing projects, private homes, schools, universities, art, cultural and health buildings, urban planning and landscape architecture, interiors, and other humanitarian and educational initiatives.

“For 25 years, The American Architecture Awards have presented stunning and meticulously-designed projects that demonstrate quality architecture in the service of clients, as well as the general public, no matter the scale of project,” states Christian Narkiewicz-Laine, Museum President, The Chicago Athenaeum.

“In a matter of 25 years, this program has become the single, most important recognition for Design Excellence in the United States, honoring known and celebrated firms, as well as young upstart offices for their smaller scaled, more challenging projects.”

“This year, the selected firms for these awards have demonstrated their ultimate commitment to bring their expertise and the quality of life that Design Excellence facilitates to projects throughout their regions and beyond.”

‘Winners include what the public has come to identify as ‘architecture’ in the private and public realm, be it a single-family home or an entire city.”

“Innovative or aspirational treatments of the building typology; exquisite expressions of modern design; and forward leaning and progressive design ideas are all expressed this year, across many different scales and regions from skyscrapers in New York to a rural retreat in remote Wisconsin.”

“The awarded buildings have earned their well-deserved recognition, taking some of the most energy intensive and technologically challenging building types to new and higher levels of design and integrated performance.”

“These practices have prioritized the fusion of design and performance, believing that beautiful buildings simply perform beautifully.”

“This year’s winning projects are the buildings that are profoundly shaping American architecture in the 21st-Century. Today’s celebrated award; tomorrow’s landmark,” Narkiewicz-Laine concludes.

This year, entries were reviewed and winners were selected by a prestigious jury composed of the following Miami-based architects, educators, and developers:

  • Alejandro Gonzalez, Principal, Arquitectonica (ARQ)
  • Carlos Rosso, Executive Vice President, The Related Group
  • Luis O. Revuelta, Principal, Revuelta Architecture
  • Peter J. Studl, Past Chairman, The Chicago Athenaeum
  • Paolo Trevisan, Head of Design, Pininfarina of America
  • Sebastian Salvat, Vice President of Development, Fortune International Realty